Stanley County voters chose two new faces for the county commission on Tuesday.

Ron Heckenlaible, an Independent, outpolled incumbent Donald Jacobson, a Democrat, for the District 4 seat. Heckenlaible had 150 votes to Jacobson’s 108, or 58 percent to 42 percent.

In District 2, Republican challenger Scott Deal defeated Independent Marsha Davenport, who had been appointed to the commission in 2011. Deal had 135 votes to Davenport’s 112, or about 55 percent to 45 percent.

Both terms are for four years.

Voters also chose Democrat Peggy Dougherty as Stanley County treasurer over Republican Sonny Harrowa, though the contest was on paper only. Harrowa had been appointed to the position in February and went on to win the Republican primary in June over Dawn Sass. But Harrowa resigned effective Sept. 20 to pursue business opportunities, and Dougherty, the deputy treasurer until then, had been appointed by the commission to fill the office from Sept. 21 to Dec. 31.

Harrowa wasn’t actively seeking the treasurer’s seat, even though his name still appeared on the ballot.

Dougherty got 958 votes to Harrowa’s 503. The term is for four years.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.