You are the owner of this article.

Pierre-Ft. Pierre area sweep Dental Society awards

Dr. Aaron Rumpca, Pierre, has been elected president of the Southern District Dental Society, a component society of the South Dakota Dental Association. Rumpca took the office during the association’s 136th annual meeting, May 16-18, in Rapid City. He practices general dentistry in both Pierre and Murdo.

Also during the meeting, Dr. Monty Bechtold. Pierre, received the South Dakota Dental Association’s Humanitarian Award. Bechtold was recognized for his commitment to dentistry in South Dakota. He began practicing dentistry in 1985. He served as president of the South Dakota Dental Association in 2013 and was a member of the South Dakota State Board of Dentistry from 1986 to 1995. He is a past member of the Delta Dental of South Dakota Board of Directors and is currently a member of the Delta Dental Foundation Board.

Dr. Michelle Hofer, Ft. Pierre, was named Young Dentist of the Year. Hofer was recognized by the International College of Dentists for her service to the dental profession and to her community. She was also installed as president-elect of the SDDA. Dr. Hofer has previously served as the SDDA’s vice president and the association’s secretary-treasurer. Dr. Hofer has practiced dentistry in Fort Pierre since 2006.

Nance Orsbon, Pierre, was recognized with the Award of Commendation by the SDDA. Orsbon was recognized for her 40-plus-year career with Delta Dental of South Dakota. As vice president of professional services, Orsbon oversaw the call center, Indian Health, Medicaid, as well as the Professional Relations and Professional Review Departments.