You are the owner of this article.

Ten South Dakota students nominated to U.S. Service Academies


United States Senator Mike Rounds (R-SD) has announced that 10 South Dakota students have been accepted to be members of the Class of 2023 at their respective academies.

Rounds’ office is accepting nomination applications for the Class of 2024. Applications must be submitted by October 1, 2019. For more information, view https://www.rounds.senate.gov/constituents/academy-nominations.

The following students will join the 2019-2020 freshman class at their respective academies.

U.S. Naval Academy — Jack Elliott, Sioux Falls; Kyras Fort, Box Elder; Gavin West, Piedmont; and Marita Schmitz, Rapid City.

U.S. Military Academy — Bryn Ellwein, Sioux Falls; and Henry Jensen, Dakota Dunes.

U.S. Air Force Academy — Haley Deome, Ramstein Air Base; Aiden Diedrich, Sioux Falls; Sierra Hillard, Whitewood; and Connor Hoback, Harrisburg.

Each year, Rounds may nominate South Dakota students to the U.S. service academies. Each academy then gives full and fair consideration to these nominations when selecting applicants. Recommendations are for top applicants to attend the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Air Force Academy, and U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. Nominations are not required for the U.S. Coast Guard Academy. Recommendations for the 2019-2020 freshman class (Class of 2023) have already been submitted. Applications for the 2020-2021 freshman class (Class of 2024) will be due October 1, 2019.