The Fighting Methamphetamine Addiction Subgroup holds its second meeting of the interim today, Thursday, Nov. 7 at 10 a.m. in Room 362 of the State Capitol in Pierre.

The meeting is open to the public, and public testimony will be taken.

Topics include services offered by the Department of Social Services, methamphetamine treatment aftercare, and possible improvements to the state’s efforts in fighting methamphetamine addiction. The full agenda can be viewed on the Legislative Research Council website at

The group is organized under the Offenses Regarding Controlled Substances Interim Study Committee.

The Fighting Methamphetamine Addiction Subgroup members are Senator Troy Heinert (D-Mission), chair; Representative Kevin Jensen (R-Canton), vice chair; Senator Ryan Maher (R-Isabel); and Representatives Lana Greenfield (R-Doland), Taffy Howard (R-Rapid City), Doug Post (R-Volga), and Tamara St. John (R-Sisseton).

Load comments