Augustana University

Several local students earned Augustana University’s Dean’s List for the spring semester:

From Pierre, Layne Hohn, Arden Koenecke, Nolan Ortbahn earned honors

From Ft. Pierre, Peter Sanchez and Riggs Sanchez were honored.

From Harrold, McKenzee Zilverberg was honored.

The Dean’s List recognizes full-time students who have a minimum of 12 credit hours with grade-point averages at 3.5 or above (on a 4.0 scale). Augustana University, located in Sioux Falls, is a selective, comprehensive university affiliated with the Lutheran Church, with more than 100 majors, minors and pre-professional programs for undergraduates, along with graduate degree and continuing education programs.

Northeastern University

Josephine Slaathaug, daughter of Eric and Missy Slaathaug, of Ft. Pierre, earned the College of Science’s Dean’s list both semesters of her freshman year at Northeastern University in Boston, Mass. She is a 2018 Riggs Graduate, and she is currently majoring in Marine Biology at Northeastern.

University of Nebraska — Lincoln

Several local students were part of the more than 5,100 University of Nebraska-Lincoln students named to the spring semester Deans’ List/Explore Center List of Distinguished Students for the university. These students are:

Fort Pierre: Garrett Vizcarra, senior, Dean’s List, College of Business, marketing.

Pierre: Emily Kist, freshman, Dean’s List, College of Business, accounting and finance; Emily Petersen, senior, Dean’s List, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, biochemistry; Miranda Rockwood, junior, Dean’s List, College of Education and Human Sciences, elementary education; Jade Thompson, senior, Dean’s List, Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts, music; Jessica Weber, sophomore, Dean’s List, College of Business, finance.

Qualification for the Deans’ List/List of Distinguished Students varies among the eight undergraduate colleges and the Explore Center. However, all qualifying grade-point averages are based on a four-point scale and a minimum of 12 graded semester hours. Students can be on the Deans’ List for more than one college.

Minnesota State University-Moorhead

Kara Brusven, of Pierre, has been named to the Minnesota State University-Moorhead dean’s list in recognition of her academic achievement for the spring semester of 2019.

Students must be in degree-seeking status and maintain a 3.25 or higher grade point average while completing a minimum of 12 graded credits to qualify for the honor.

Brusven is a 2017 graduate of Christian Liberty Academy school system is studying commercial music.

MSU Moorhead, with an enrollment of approximately 5,800 students, is a comprehensive university offering 141 majors, emphases and options, 11 pre-professional studies programs, and 15 graduate programs.


Recommended for you

Load comments