Sidney Zanin.jpg

Lady Govs soccer coach Sidney Zanin, seen here kicking a ball before the State Championship Match against Rapid City Stevens, was named the Soccer Coach of the Year by the South Dakota High School Coaches Association. (courtesy Brandon Campea)

Pierre T.F. Riggs Lady Governors soccer coach Sidney Zanin was named the South Dakota Soccer Coach of the Year in an announcement made by the South Dakota High School Coaches Association on Friday.

Zanin guided the Lady Govs to their second straight Class A State Girls Soccer championship after defeating Rapid City Stevens 2-0 in the State Championship game at Sioux Park in Rapid City. The Lady Govs went 14-1-1. They ended the season with eight straight wins. The Lady Govs overpowered opponents, outscoring them 53-8.

Zanin, who was in Brazil when the Capital Journal reached out to him, said he was excited to receive the honor.

“It just shows that the hard work that I’ve put in, and that these girls have put in, was worth it,” Zanin said.

Another area coach to receive a Fall Sports Award was Miller volleyball coach Linda DeBoer. She was named Volleyball Coach of the Year after guiding the Rustlers to a Region 6A leading 30-3 record. The Rustlers won 25 straight matches before losing 3-0 to Sioux Falls Christian in the Class A Volleyball Championship. The Rustlers won 80 out of 97 sets that they played this past season.

Zanin and DeBoer, as well as all of the other award winners, will be recognized at the annual awards banquet held in Mitchell this summer in conjunction with the South Dakota Coaches’ Clinic.

Full South Dakota High School Coaches Association Awards list for Fall 2018

(Other nominees are listed below the winner)

Cheer – Val Ewing of Winner High School

Tina Barnett-Sioux Falls O’Gorman, Bruce Kleinsasser-Aberdeen Central, Diedra Nissen-Sioux Falls Roosevelt

Dance – Tracy Kuhn of Brandon Valley High School

Megan Smith-Huron, Melissa Strong-Dakota Valley

Soccer – Sidney Zanin of Pierre T.F. Riggs High School

Dave Dancler-Sioux Falls Washington, Tyler Schuring-Yankton, Luis Usera-Rapid City Stevens, Kendall Velgersdyk-Sioux Falls Christian

Girls Cross Country – Don Ray of Deubrook High School

Karen Karim-Custer, Eric Pooley-Sioux Falls Lincoln, Kyle Sanderson-Newell

Boys Cross Country – Jeff Larson of Warner High School

Tom Brantner-James Valley Christian, Karen Karim-Custer, Eric Pooley-Sioux Falls Lincoln

Football – Byron Pudwill of Bon Homme High School

Craig Clayberg-Tea Area, Chad Garrow-Brandon Valley, Michael Schmitz-Huron, James Strang-Canistota

Volleyball – Linda DeBoer of Miller High School

Kari Jung-Warner, Kylie Voorhees-Rapid City Stevens, Darci Wassenaar, Sioux Falls Christian

Load comments